Week 4: “We have to protect the forests to keep the unicorns alive.”

So, I’m in Tennessee now.

IMG_2985

Quick rundown of Tennessee vs. Utah. TN pros: rolling hills, green and lush as fuck, hanging with some of my main bitches, delicious food, live music everywhere, hipster-y people running around. TN cons: mountains are further away (at least an hour), outrageously hot and humid. Tennessee wins, obvi.

 Monday: 3 mile trail run

Thursday: 2 mile walk

Friday: 6 mile trail run

Saturday: 11 mile hike

—–

Weekly total: 22 miles

TOTAL total: 61 miles

If anyone is keeping track besides me (unlikely), this is the first week I’ve actually exceeded the number of miles in a week that I need to finish 1,000 miles in a year. Go me!

Also, my body has felt amazingly great this week. It blows my mind, because I’m incredibly injury-prone and used to hurting myself whenever I increase the volume or intensity of my workouts. I’ll take it. Thanks body.

After spending all of last weekend stuck in a car, I was raging to get outside on Monday. I was looking for a decent trail that’s close to where I’m staying, so used the power of the internet to find Victor Ashe Park. Knoxville has a set of multi-use trails sprinkled throughout the city called greenways that they’re developing. Apparently it’s up to 86 miles of trails now, I guess. I was kind of worried that most of them were paved, but I’ve found several so far that aren’t.

map-victor-ashe-park-lg

Source

I did the 1.5 mile unpaved loop trail twice. It was fucking hot and humid, but somehow that didn’t drive me too crazy. I got to check out some dudes playing disc golf in the park, and the second time I ran by the dog park, two adorable puppies followed me along the fence. I felt super fit while running past all the fat white dudes taking a stroll in the park.

IMG_2988 IMG_2990 IMG_2994 IMG_2995

The greenway in Sequoyah Park was the other place I checked out this week, which I’ve heard is awesome from multiple sources. In my attempt to have more active rest days, my bf and I walked around the park. I kind of figured this greenway was paved, which was why I wanted to scout it out first, but it wasn’t. Score! Also, it’s a really beautiful, big park that’s adjacent to some really nice, likely insanely expensive, houses.

IMG_3017 IMG_3013 IMG_3012 IMG_3016

I returned to the park the next day for a 6 miler. When I hit the last quarter mile, I didn’t even want to stop, so that’s probably a good sign. I kind of hate that every quarter mile is marked out on posts, though, because it’s a constant reminder that I’m not done yet.

IMG_3021

IMG_3020

I’ve been meaning to get new trail runners for a while now, because my old pair had something like 900 miles on them. Woops. I picked up a new pair from the New Balance store in Knoxville; they’re the same model I had before, the Leadville 100s, but a different color. Definitely the manliest-looking pair of trainers I’ve ever owned.

IMG_3018

They were running some sort of promotional deal, too, so I got $25 worth of apparel for free? I got this sick new pair of shorts that I don’t really need, but runners can’t say no to new running shit.

IMG_0559

The cherry on top of this most excellent week was heading up into the mountains to hike with a couple of my girlfriends. We intended to do the 4 miles out to Alum Cave (not really a cave), but ended up going all the way to the LeConte Lodge for a total of 11 miles. It was a glorious day with some awesome people.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERAGEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Pictures > words.

I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus due to allergies, so that’s all you get. I might just crawl back into bed.

Leave a Reply

