Week 9: “The heart is a motherfucker, I’m positive of that.”

People here are assholes while driving.

IMG_3243

One of the (very very few) reasons I’m looking forward to returning to Utah. At least there I don’t fear for my life several times a day.

Wednesday: 3 mile trail run

Friday: 3 mile walk

Saturday: 7.5 mile hike

Sunday: 7.5 mile hike

—–

Weekly total: 21 miles

TOTAL total: 119.5 miles

Yeah, I’m a little behind on miles for this challenge. Like 60 miles behind. I try not to freak out about that by reminding myself that this is a long-term goal and it’s okay for there to be some variance in weekly mileage. I’m anticipating that there will be plenty of weeks in the future that exceed the necessary weekly average of ~20 miles. Hopefully.

The exciting activity of week 9 was taking my bf on his very first backpacking trip!

We went up into the Smokies and did a loop using the Curry Mountain and Meigs Creek trails. These are not very well-traveled trails but they were in great condition nevertheless.

TripMap

From GSMNP trail map

There are so many trails in the Smokies, all of which are great, yet I tend to go back to the same popular ones over and over again. Like Chimney Tops, Charlie’s Bunion, Alum Cave, all of which I’ve done at least three times. Fucking dumb waste of time.

We parked my car at the Sinks and then walked to the Curry Mountain trailhead, all while trying not to get hit by passing cars.

IMG_3247

The entirety of the Curry Mountain trail is a fairly gradual uphill. It felt so good to be back in the woods. This was my first backpacking trip since getting off the Appalachian Trail in July last year, which is a shamefully long time. I regain (most of) my sanity and balance out on trail.

IMG_3286 IMG_3252 IMG_3253 IMG_3256

Wes thinking, “What the fuck did I get myself into?!”

IMG_3249

I spent like 2o minutes getting water from a not-so-ideal source. Turns out there was a much better stream about a minute walk down the trail. Woops.

IMG_3290

The campsite was great. The only other inhabitants were a father and his son at first. Then a group of three turned up in the evening, set up their tents, and left the campsite. They apparently returned at like midnight. My best guess is that they were doing ritualistic animal sacrifices out in the woods.

IMG_3261IMG_3262

IMG_3294 IMG_3293 IMG_3263 IMG_3292

Being on trail = excuse to eat junk trail food.

IMG_3264

This joke starts like “a biologist and an engineer are trying to start a campfire in the woods…”

IMG_3295 IMG_3296

Anyways, the section of Meigs Mountain trail that we did was really flat and super easy. It was easy cruising into the campsite on Saturday and leaving the next morning. We saw a cemetery and did some walking and some eating, which are my two most favorite activities.

IMG_3268 IMG_3269 IMG_3272 IMG_3276

Wes made some contributions to the Shit Found in The Woods project, including a snail head deep in a pile of bear shit.

IMG_3287 IMG_3291 IMG_3297

Then the Meigs Creek trail, which required about a gazillion stream crossings. And nobody fell in!

IMG_3279 IMG_3298 IMG_3285

We successfully made it back to the Sinks and my car, which had not been towed or vandalized.

IMG_3299

I did my best to design the trip to be optimal for a first-timer. It seems that the first big outdoorsing trip that most people go on are awful, miserable ordeals involving heavy packs, insufficient equipment, and terrible weather. And then there are the crazies like me who keep going on trips regardless of the quality of that first experience.

While I kept the miles low and we were in an area we were both comfortable with, the one thing I don’t have control of is weather. Luckily, this went perfectly. It was humid but still relatively cool during the days and, even though thunderstorms were in the forecast the entire time, it only rained at night while we were in the tent.

Wes seemed to have enjoyed the trip, and we’ve started doing it again out west this fall.

I guess I should stop procrastinating and put away all the gear that’s strewn about the apartment now.

2 thoughts on “Week 9: “The heart is a motherfucker, I’m positive of that.”

  1. Hello, my daughter. Well, first this looks like a good time. Second, Wes should know by know what you are all about when it comes to you doing something that you want to do. I love the pics and follow you on your blogs. I love you Mom!

Leave a Reply

