Weeks 15 & 16: “It’s not a cage if you’re feeling like a resident.”

Missed last week’s update because I was at an ecology conference in Maine. I was far too busy, stressed, and exhausted to be bothered, for serious. Also, nothing that exciting has happened since the King’s Peak trip.

Except for chicken parties.

IMG_0029

And scientists playing cornhole.

IMG_0014

And eating burritos at the airport.

IMG_0006

Because I have to. If I ever don’t require a burrito during a trip, please take me to see a doctor.

 

Week 15

Monday: 8.5 mile hike (King’s Peak)

Thursday: 3 mile trail run

—–

Week 16

Monday: 3 mile run

Wednesday: 3 mile run

Saturday: 4 mile trail run

—–

TOTAL total: 204.5 miles

I totally meant to hike up Logan Canyon yesterday, but ended up floating the Oneida narrows with some people instead. Much better life choice.

I went on a couple of runs while at the conference, mostly because I needed to maintain my sanity just a little bit. We were at the University of New England in Biddeford, which is right on the ocean. Except you can’t see the ocean from campus because of a narrow band of trees between the two, which seemed like a stupid thing to me.

So I ran off campus. It was beautiful and not that hot there and at a reasonable altitude.

IMG_0011IMG_0013IMG_0012

Those were some good times, yo.

Now let’s talk about some not so good times.

The other two runs I’ve done in the past couple of weeks were both in Logan, one on the north segment of the Bonneville Shoreline trail and one on the south.

IMG_0004 IMG_0022

These were awful. It’s just because I’m not acclimated to these elevations, so I have problems breathing and feel exhausted. I’ve never before wanted a run to end as badly as I have recently. I know there’s nothing I can do about this and it will get better with time, but it’s frustrating. I feel like I’m just being a lazy fuck making excuses for why I have to walk up every teeny tiny hill and stop all the time for no reason. That’s just my character; I blame myself for problems that are genuinely out of my control. It’s so motherfucking pointless.

IMG_0026

The positive side to this is that it makes me realize how much easier running has become for me, now that I know what it’s like for every run to be a painful, godawful trudge.  It’s not like that normally, and I’m going to try to more mindfully appreciate that running just isn’t that difficult for me anymore.

Which is a beautiful thing.

And so was this little guy just hanging out (right in my way) and this ambiguous sign.

IMG_0025 IMG_0027

Leave a Reply

